Strip Strip Hooray!

I went to see  burlesque queen Dita Von Teese and her lovely friends on the second of their two night tour stop in Portland. Needless to say, it was a feast for mine eyes! I’m still processing all of the glam and glitter…. and pasties.

20120529-103907.jpg

20120529-103926.jpg

20120529-103938.jpg

These type of shows ignite a lot of feelings in me. Part of me is tense watching women parade around in silly costumes as nothing more than spectacles of desire; equally though, I adore the glitz and glamor, the make-up and hair, the SHOW BIZ. I’m not of the belief that the feminist and feminine must be mutually exclusive. This particular show made a concerted effort to showcase a wide range of body types, races, and even physical disabilities. All of the performers, no matter what size, were up on stage, completely owning their power as sexual beings… and appearing to have the time of their lives doing so.

I had a great time and Dita & Co. gained a new fan. Many thanks to my friend SB for taking me along! xo

Leave a Reply

