The Misses Mile High.

#nowplaying Leonard Cohen “Live in London, Disc 1

Tomorrow after work I leave for Denver to visit my beloved sis, commence anxious trip-eve state! Needless to say, I’m quite excited. I haven’t been to Denver in a year & a half and so much has happened for her within that time: moving to a new apartment, working at a different school, and meeting a steady beau [who I cannot wait to meet]. I’m also looking forward to a weekend out of Portland and a chance to experience lots of food, drink, & conversation with my closest friend.

Also on the itinerary is a stroll through “YSL: The Retrospective” at the Denver Art Museum.

I’m so excited to see this!! I love fashion/textile exhibits and I’ve never been to DAM [not quite as giggle-inducing as VAG, but still I chuckled…], so it’s a win all around. Plus, the chance to see some handiwork from one of the capital “G” Greats up close [aka not in a book or magazine] is always enticing. I wanted to watch the documentary about YSL, L’Amour Fou , on the ‘Flix before departure, but alas, it’ll  just have to serve as follow-up to the exhibition [and hopefully extension of the “couture-in-person” high]. My sis is the perfect museum companion as we tend to move at the same pace and are content to break off and go our own ways if desired. Stay tuned for the full review and *hopefully* plenty of ‘Gram material.

HuffPost Style had a great slideshow today accompanying an arty about a film version of the TV series “Sabrina the Teenage Witch.” I’ll stop myself from launching into the “whys” of such an endeavor – really, are you that desperate for ideas, H’wood?? – and instead focus on the joyous photos of Melissa Joan Hart as Sabrina rocking trends of the time that perfectly capture my Jr. High-early High School days [the series ran from 1996-2003].

"Hair-out-of-the-pony"

"These dresses"

"Bejeweled bobby pins"

"Chokers"

HOLY SHIZ. I had no idea how spot on the styling in this show was until seeing some stills in hindsight. These were exactly the trends that I followed and wanted *so badly* to pull off successfully [many a tardy due to picking  justtherightamount of hair from the low/mid-level ponytail to effortlessly frame the face…]. Ah, youth! Thanks for the flashback, HPS!

Until next pose,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

