Off the beaten path.

#nowplaying Whiskeytown Strangers Almanac 

First and foremost, I want to make good on my promise to share a photo of my clogs. I picked them up on Friday afternoon and quickly decided they would make their debut later that evening [thank you, dry weather]. I’ve been quite enamored by the clogs + tights pairing this winter and now that we’re moving into *air quotes* spring, my infatuation shows no sign of waning.

An appointment late in the week took me to N. Williams, a stretch of town that I rarely visit, except for the occasional Little Edie’s/Waypost doubleheader. And even then, those fine establishments are further removed from what I’d call the “main stretch,” home to many popular dining & shopping destinations. I hadn’t been up that way since I had the privilege of meeting & interviewing Rebecca Pearcy, owner & designer of Queen Bee Creations, a line of locally made handbags and textiles [you can reed that “Movers & Makers” feature here, wink wink]. That was early November, and well, it’s now late March. It was high time to return, and with no business to conduct, my wanderings could be purely pleasurable.*spoiler alert* they were!!

I started with proper fuel, as one should, at Ristretto Roasters. It was nice out and their $2 in-house coffee comes with one refill, so I ensconced myself at a sun-drenched table and did some scribing. I appreciate the sturdy mugs there – they also come in white – and might purchase one next visit. Oh, and I almost forgot: the java was delicious!

Post-java, I strolled down to the double-trouble danger zone of Lodekka and Wanderlust, two very well-stocked and affordable vintage shops, both operating out of busses [yes, really].

I’d say it’s criminal to have these darling shops-on-wheels right next to each other, but that only speaks to my weak willpower when it comes to vintage dresses. Really, it’s a dream set-up: they cater to the same consumer, thus doubling the pool of potential buyers. Instead of spreading out – Wanderlust used to be on Alberta and Lodekka at a different location on Wililams – they combined forces, much to the delight of shoppers and, apparently from their sunny dispositions, the respective shop owners. The shared astroturf “yard” between the two busses begs for lingering and chatting, especially on a warm day.

Pictured are the items I came away with after bus shopping. Contrary to what I envisioned, checking out without a register is damn easy, thanks to iPads that can accept plastic and the ability to settle up at either shop. You also don’t have to worry about remembering what came from where or putting unwanted loot back, as the ladies will take care of it.

I really like how the Wanderlust labels have the approximate era of the item in addition to the price; an educational and informative label, like!

Please make a trip N. Williams on your next visit to Portland, or take the time to linger and explore further if, like me, you haven’t been in a while. So much to see, discover, experience, and yes, BUY! Get out and support local gems like Ristretto, Lodekka, and Wanderlust.

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

