Downtown Girl.

#nowplaying this mix, courtesy of the so very genius vintage shop / slash / bar, Palace of Industry

First: HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY! Hope you are getting pinches in all the right places and ordering multiple dark brews. It’s practically an order from POTUS, after all! I love this photo.

Since it’s been a few weeks, I’m going to resort to my favorite way of info sharing: the bulleted list!

  • I filled a journal: November 18, 2011- March 4, 2012

  • My birthday was on 03.07.12. It was a good day filled with sunshine, calls to family, friends, and tons of “‘cuz it’s my birthday!” splurges. Rightly so.
  • I am blissfully overwhelmed by the pile of magazines awaiting first my gaze, then my scissors- thank you, mother! Seriously, the stack is growing seemingly by the day. It is the most glorious “problem” I’ve had recently and I picked up a binder and folders – project alert! – to start the what’s sure to be lengthy task of organizing and cataloguing [pun intended?] the hundreds of clippings I’ve collected from various publications over the last few years. I can’t justify keeping the entire issue, although I wish I could, so I just take the bits and pieces I like the most and feel like I can repurpose for cards, collages, etc.
  • I am registered to take a class at Pacific Northwest College of Art [PNCA] starting April 17th called Writing + Art Making. Is it possible to go wrong with those two topics? I hope not, as I definitely need a jolt to the right brain.
  • I saw the documentary MissRepresentation at Portland State University as part of a free screening and discussion sponsored by the school’s Center for Women, Politics & Policy. The film explores the often degrading and demeaning ways women are depicted in the media and how these portrayals shape us as we grow up and mature. I’m still thinking about it….. a lot. Yes, I know all documentaries are biased and statistics are manipulated to support the accompanying claims, but so much of what I saw spoke to personal experiences I’ve had. I’m bringing this up not to get preachy, but rather to announce a shift in my blog. Not that I ever dwelled too much on the negative, but from now on, PoseCity will only focus on fashion in terms of the positive [as in, no more criticizing appearances].
Now that I’ve caught up for the most part, end bulleted blurbs, begin tale o’ Rose City Lurve:
I had a shopping experience this week that can only be described in my heart as pure admiration for the city in which I dwell. And if you were actually in Portland this past week, you know that ‘appreciation’ was probably not on the forefront of feelings, falling somewhere way behind S.A.D-induced frustration from the intense onset of the rainy season. I’m in a “clog phase” after purchasing my first pair of Danskos earlier this year and I decided to use some birthday ca$h to buy a handmade pair from Alder & Co., a shop near my work that I pop into every now and then when I need a pick-me-up on my break. The heel strap on said clogs was in need of altering and the kind woman working recommended I go to Derek’s Shoe Repair on SW Broadway to see if the mend could be done; she also offered to knock that amount off the price, as it is common for the shoes to vary in fit since they are one-of-a-kind. I left work, picked up the clogs from Alder & Co, waltzed down to Derek’s [good news: shoes can be tailored to my feet, bad news: they won’t be ready for a week!], and back to work all in about 20 minutes. Sure, the rain was pouring down the whole time and the sky was a dull shade of concrete, but I was immensely grateful to be reminded how lucky I am to live and work downtown, where indie businesses are a’ plenty and they even support each other through recommendations. PDX pride! Oh, and I got a sweet pen at Alder & Co. to satiate me until I can pick up my shoes.

I love that it looks like a mechanical pencil and the bubblegum shade of pink!

Have a very safe and green holiday! Much love.

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

