Time to reflect.

My new watch arrived! The words “on vehicle for delivery today” are the online shopper’s equivalent to the excitement felt by others anticipating a date or big game. Needless to say after seeing these words on the UPS tracking email, I rushed home from work to welcome my new acquisition.
Tortoise shell is my obsession thus far in 2012; classic and practical but *not yet* overdone/stale like pearls. Whoda thunk that checking your wrist for the time would become sort of antiquated and endearing? I’ve never even owned a fancy watch – one that doubles as a calculator surely does not count – and although I see it more as fashion rather than function [I haven’t even set the time yet!], I know it will be useful to have.

In other news, my never ending intrigue re: relationships, marriage(s), partnerships has been fired up once again by a few articles I’ve read this week. I love discussing the merits of unions vs. the absolute freedom of singledom. My favorite part of such conversations is that no sort of conclusion is ever expected; I don’t think anyone has the answer or correct formula for allowing others into your life and the timeline in which this is all supposed to happen. It’s just fun to hear people’s opinions and I’ve found that most are more than willing to share.

For your reeding & discussing pleasure:

Alone Again, Naturally” – from the NYT: one woman’s perspective on why men aren’t “okay” being by themselves and women are [play this whilst reeding, would ya?]

Why Men Need to Cheat” – from HuffPost: men are going to – and maybe even need to – cheat and partners need to accept this and stop viewing infidelity as the ultimate betrayal
*note* this one really got me going!

“Monogamish Couples Share Their Stories“-  this week’s Savage Love: beloved Dan shares some real-life instances of partners opening up their relationships.. and making it work. Goes well with the arty above, ya think?

Above all, I remain an eternal optimist when it comes to love. My friend recommended the book A Literate Passion to me after we discovered a shared admiration for the writer Anais Nin. The book is a collection of love letters exchanged between Nin & writer Henry Miller over the course of 20 years. It’s a great one to have around as you can pick right back up where you left off, even if months have passed. The connection – mind, body & spirit –  between these two is inspiring and the passionate sentiments are exactly what you’d expect from two very talented wordsmiths. I’ll sign off with a quote from Anais that particularly resonates with me lately:

“There are two ways to reach me- by way of kisses or by way of the imagination. But there is a hierarchy: kisses alone don’t work.”

 

Cheers to that!

PoseCity xo.

2 Comments on “Time to reflect.”

  1. Emily Tate (Bruer Tate & Jane's Vanity) says:

    I love your new watch!!!!! It’s something I’ve been hunting for, as well. And I agree about tortishell (hence http://www.etsy.com/listing/86351833/sophia-earrings-faceted-tiger-stripe and http://www.etsy.com/listing/86346602/sophia-necklace-faceted-tiger-stripe on constant jewelry loop in my world) ~ though I don’t know if pearls can ever be played out…
    Have you read the unexpurgated diaries of Anais Nin? Definitely another interesting perspective on relationships ~ her love/”infidelity” and perspective on relationships/”infidelity” is fascinating and beautiful. Own them all, if you’d like to borrow 🙂
    xoxo
    Emily

    • PoseCity says:

      I ❤ you so much, ET! We must discuss more Anais soon. I know it's weird, but I've never been much for pearls… but I DO love the jewels you posted! xo


Leave a Reply

