Peace OUT, 2011!

Happy New Year’s Eve!

My “Blogging Year in Review” just arrived in my inbox from WordPress. How timely!

Super fun- thanks, WP.

A few of my bests from the past year:

Beauty Product: Medieval lip color by Lipstick Queen

I love this sheer, flattering color so much! It wears light like a stain, but is packaged more conveniently in my opinion [fits perfect in my lipstick mirror/case]. Apparently I’m not the only one who is wild about this product, as it is notoriously difficult to find in-stock. I was on a waiting list for it at Blush Beauty Bar for months! #worthit

Hair Product: Spray wax by Sachajuan

Spray what?! Yes, I know. I had no idea that this styling product – which, BTW, I cannot pronounce – would change my follicle life forever when my hair fairy at Gold + Arrow used it on my mane just a few months ago. It was way more than I usually spend on such an item, but the hold is truly unique and I had to have it. NO REGRETS! I definitely recommend this for thick, curly/wavy hair; use on the second or third day after shampooing for optimal styling ease. The hold is strong but not crunchy or sticky… and it creates great “JBF hair” during those dry spells.

Best New Portland Store: tie, abrahams&duffy and Eden
I couldn’t choose between these two! Grateful to be able to feature both in the Local Alternatives series on NN.

abrahams&duffy – Granted this NE Alberta boutique is more of a “look with your eyes” establishment for me, but I still love going in and perusing the racks and chatting with the owners. If I were to envision the perfect closet for myself, I’d stuff it full of items from a&d for both work and causal wear. My sister is also a huge fan after her visit in October and I got her two pairs of earrings from here for Christmas [after stalking her a&d “likes” on Facebook, tee hee!]; one is pictured below, along with the plaid dress she bought from local line Bridge & Burn and the festive decor in the shop during the holiday season.

Eden – The sister store to N. Mississippi’s dreamy Flutter, Eden opened in the Pearl over the summer. I love this place because it exists as an oasis to its surroundings; the Pearl can sometimes seem stuffy and hoity toity, but one step into Eden and all is forgotten. The colors are bold and the patterns anything but subtle. Seemingly every surface is covered with wares: candles, lotion, coffee table books, jewelry, and of course, a small but stellar selection of vintage dresses and scarves.

Best Music: Bon Iver, Bon Iver

I’m no music critic, but this is my “alBUM of the year” based purely on number of plays. I think most fans were a bit wary about a Bon Bon release in June, but this was our office stand-by at work and got us through a particularly gloomy spring just fine. View more of the ethereal album art by Gregory Euclide here and read a Q&A about his process for creating these images for Vernon & Co.

Best Website: Twitter

I can’t believe it took me so long to hop on the Twit wagon! Twitter has essentially become my main online news source and I’ve discovered so many awesome and inspiring links, blogs, and people from my feed. Tweet, tweet, tweet, tweet, yeah!

Best Blogs: Miss Moss, Honey Kennedy, Man Repeller, clever nettle
Just go look at them, mmmkay?

For more opining [from the pros!] about Fashion & Style in 2011:

NYT’s Cathy Horyn “Recounts the Year in Fashion

WWD’s very detailed, month-by-month breakdown “Fashion Moments in 2011

I hope this past year was happy and healthy for you. Personally, I enjoyed so many great moments it’s difficult to wrap-up concisely, so I won’t try but rather list some words that represent my year: Neighborhood Notes, nails (nails, nails), magazines, old love/new love/deeper love(s), bigger apartment, new job, “professional wardrobe,” San Diego, Eugene, Indiana, Seattle x 2, writing, writing, writing. Thanks for sharing the ride.

Much love as you greet 2012!

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

3 Comments on “Peace OUT, 2011!”

  1. Rose says:

    I really like you blog…and I have a little proposal of partnership for you…

    I need a photographer. You need a photographer. I have a camera. We both like to be out and about in Portland…

    Why don’t we meet up once a week or so and collab on outfit photos?

    Let me know what you think…

    Rose

  2. We adore you! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    xoxo,
    Marissa & Daisy
    abrahams&duffy


Leave a Reply

