Project!

#nowplaying Silver Jews Pandora Radio

Day after Christmas: Marked in my youth by immense sadness that another 12/25 was 364 days away- marked today by great joy that I have the day off work and can recoup alone post-travel/time change/lack of solid sleep. I started the day as I do seemingly every Dec. 26th with “Brick” by Ben Folds stuck in my head [“6 am, day after Christmas, I throw some clothes on in the dark..”]. Surely I’m not the only person that happens to, right? However you find yourself on this day, I hope that you and yours had a very merry whatever you celebrate/are still celebrating.

I took a bit of an Interwebz hiatus as indicated by my lack of posts. I have December off from NN commitments and it has been nice, but also… odd. I miss it and am curious to learn what changes await from them in 2012. I’ve struggled to put a name on the identity we create for ourselves on the world wide web (e-dentity? web-self? robot?) but whatever you want to call the online persona constructed to represent yourself – the tweets that come via your smartphone, the blog you update sporadically, the Instagram photos you edit & upload [guilty] – can become quite overwhelming for me in tough times. Strangely, it is this detached, often embellished representation of myself that I most immediately want to pull away from when I am feeling down. But “hide mode” is no good long-term and I’m feeling better so, without further #whitegirlproblems, a project!

Gratitude Box: Crafty project 2K11 [yes, there was only one…]

There are many reasons why I don’t consider myself to be “crafty. Mainly, not wanting to spend the money on such endeavors is usually reason number one. But I’m learning from all my friends on my Google Reeder that this is a silly excuse and that many projects detailed by impossibly adorable bloggettes use found objects or items that can be bought on the cheap at second-hand &/or antique stores. Lack of space was another big hindrance for me whilst living with roommates and in a studio apartment. I hated the feeling of immediately having to clean up a project even if I wasn’t finished; now that I have more space to spread out, this is also a lousy excuse. So for those keeping count, I’m 0-2 in valid reasons against my desire to be crafty. Enough!

I found this project via one of the aforementioned adorable blogs, Design*Sponge and you can view the entire DIY post here, titled “Vintage Postcard Calendar Journal.” It was suggested as a gift idea for the holidays and I sent it to my mom expressing my delight at the simple  yet stylish way of recording events of the day. Since I journal so gosh darn much anyway, I thought if I in fact followed through on attempting this project, I’d make the purpose very specific. Thus, the idea of a Gratitude Box where each day I’d write a word, phrase, or short sentence expressing thanks. Each card has multiple lines, so the idea is to keep the box for years, making reflecting on life’s joys easy and organized.

A few snaps of our assemblage from antique store to counter top:

Picking out only 12 postcards was difficult; so many gems!

A few that made the cut.

Cutting & stamping with mom (she made one, too!)

All done!

Will begin on January 1, 2012

I hope the simplicity and ease of this project is enough to encourage me to try more, as I really enjoyed putting everything together and doing it alongside an enthusiastic pal [hi, mom!]. So many projects are adaptable to your needs and desires; make this as a gift, keep it for yourself, write down whatever you want to on the lines, it’s totally up to you!

Cheers,

PoseCrafty xo.

4 Comments on “Project!”

  1. Emily Tate (Bruer Tate & Jane's Vanity) says:

    Such a fantastic project! A little extra daily gratitude reminder would do the world at large great good… xo

  2. Kate says:

    I LOVE this idea! I am already obsessed with postcards and I think this is a great alternative journal idea. Maybe I will have to whip one up before the new year starts 🙂 Thanks for the idea, happy you are gettin’ crafty.


Leave a Reply

