Reunited.

#nowplaying Atlas Genius “Trojans”
Yet another tune I first heard via a Miss Moss playlist. I kinda hate how much I like this song as it’s way too peppy for how I’m feeling lately. Whatcanyado?

I’m sharing a photo that is entirely unremarkable in all aspects, except for the very obvious fact that there are two subjects:


Quick backstory: my paternal G’ma Hazel [we called her ‘Gran,’ RIP] gave me these diamond studs on my 16th birthday and I’ve worn them nearly everyday since. They were on my ears during my driving test, my high school graduation, the move to Portland, the night I wrote my first blog post. They are perfectly simple and go with everything and are my most treasured jewels that are mine [i.e. have not been handed down or bought second-hand/vintage].

All that said, I’ve almost lost them a hundred times. I take them off every night and put them “somewhere” in the bathroom for safe keeping until the next wear. On Saturday, I thought they were finally gone- for good this time. I was at a party and went to sweep my hair behind my left ear when I realized that my earring was not in. I panicked and left abruptly. I tore apart my bathroom and jewel closet to no avail. It was gone and it served me right for not picking a more protective resting place. I cried. Oh, cruel jewel karma!

Earlier that day, I’d gotten my roots touched up. After a few days of moping about my sentimental loss and exhausting all potential hiding places, I decided to go back to the salon and ask if anyone had seen my sweet earring. I figured why not, although I held little hope. I went in on my lunch break and there it was; promptly put into my palm by the cheerful woman at the front desk. I walked back to work in shock, yet my feet knew what was up because they skipped the whole way.

I am not as interested in hearing what walls would have to say if they could talk as I am in ponying up to a bar with a well-worn pair of earrings or someone’s wedding band. The jewels have  heard all the juicy gossip, seen all the double-takes, the heartache, the make-ups and break-ups. These certainly know me well and I am grateful to have them back in my life.

Surely my Grandma Hazel angel had a part in this pre-Christmas Christmas miracle.

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

