The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

Awards Season aside of course, I’m talkin’ ’bout THE HOLIDAZE!
Living alone and far from family can at times diminish the spirit of the season, especially since I don’t decorate for such occasions. Today, I bought some cinnamon-scented pine cones at the grocery store; I walked in and was overwhelmed by their aroma in the entryway and decided to buy a bag to make #6 smell festive.

I scattered a few throughout my space and then hung the rest like you see above from a cabinet. I know myself enough to realize I’m probably never going to go “all out” with any sort of decor, so I figured a small effort would increase the holiday cheer in my cozy corner of the Rose City.

I’m heading north to Seattle for Thanksgiving later this week and I cannot wait. I haven’t had time off since my trip to Indy in July and having worked at “attractions” for the last four years, I’ve never had a true Thanksgiving weekend off work. Mega pumped!

If you’re out and about on Black Friday in Portland, do check out this awesome effort by local businesses called Little Boxes. This promotion has spread like wildfire throughout town, with some major small biz favorites coming together to offer discounts and prizes for putting yo’ bucks back into the local economy on what is traditionally a huge retail day for malls and corporations. Bummed to be missing out, but it’s probably for the best given my Alberta binge yesterday. I’m on strict financial lockdown for the next 2 weeks; bah-humbug, bills!

One last image to share before I go:

I don’t know what it is exactly about these images from illustrator Aurel Schmidt that make me so happy, but I’ve been staring at them daily since AnOther Magazine posted the link to Facebook. I like pretty flowers and I like drinks; maybe it’s that simple.

Bye for now sweet peas. I wish you all a safe and happy holiday…and encourage you to wear your eatin’ pants ALL THANKSGIVING DAY!!!!

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

One Comment on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.”

  1. Emily Tate says:

    Happiest of holidays to you, my sweet! Have fun on your weekend off adventure in Seattle, I look forward to seeing you upon your return!
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

