Queen KiKi.

#nowplaying Grandaddy The Sophtware Slump [what else is new?]

Tonight I spent some time post-“new job” with some friends that came into my life via “old job.” Ultimately, I think that the reoccurring lessons we learn and re-learn throughout our lives are pretty simple; it’s when we have too much time to over-analyze and ponder that thoughts/ideas become muddled and unclear. I was reminded of that this evening. The time I spent – at one of my all-time favorite watering holes – reminded me that there is “good” and there is “value” in every situation in life. While I felt creatively and professionally stifled at my old job, I had amazing coworkers- the types that morph from “how was your weekend?!” acquaintances to “tell me absolutely everything” confidants. For me, the “goodness” in a somewhat dissatisfying work life lay in these people, many of whom I consider lucky to still have in my life despite a lot of ups, downs, and potentially divisive situations. It is really too early to fairly asses my current work-to-personal-life ratio, but not too premature to realize that the people I met through my previous employment are rare. Every situation has it’s perks- stating the obvious, sure, but it feels damn nice to realize every once in a while.

In other news, it seems like the Melancholia media circuit is slowing turning into my own personal highlight reel for Ms. Dunst, who looks dimply, er, simply maaaaahvelous in pretty much every appearance lately.



In Chloe black, left and below. Something about this look is very “flapper” to me- the slight wave in her hair and the high-neck make me think Ms. Bow would approve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close-up of simple make-up, right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Derek Lam’s fall white, left & below. I especially love the clutch she’s paired with this dress: bedazzled x 10! Wish I could find a shot of the back, it looks so deliciously intricate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Full-frontal bliss!

Her look of late is almost minimalist: very few jewels, low-maintence hair and make-up. Keep it up, KiKi! Can’t wait to see what you wear next; oh and your movie, I guess.

I wrote recently how I’d been “out of it” in terms of #NYFW; well #PFW is happening this week, and thanks to the Facebook pages I follow, I feel somewhat caught up.  A few of my favorite looks from Spring 2012:

Elie Saab, mind blown! Photos courtesy of Elle.com

SUCH amazing use of color. Check out the whole shebang here and read a review from WWD here.

Yves Saint Laurent:

Behold all of YSL’s jewel-toned beauty here.

So just two for now, but please do some viewing on your own if you do so desire, you will not be disappointed.

Plenty eye-candy for one post, I do declare. I have a busy weekend ahead and am looking forward to my arty about my participation in Flux being published for NN sometime soon.

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

