One year and 99 posts later.

#nowplaying Sumday– Grandaddy

FYI: For all intensive purposes, I am declaring THIS my one-year anniversary post!
I’m feeling quite reflective on this day, August 28, 2011, as it is the very day one year ago that I took an evening walk prior to going out to dance myself clean, and felt a rush of creative energy that has since been unmatched. I know that those type of “eureka” moments are rare in life and I am grateful to have had a few so far that have been transformative in various degrees. When I reread my FIRST POST today, I gazed upon my words with a silly smile, like I wanted to reach out and pat myself on the shoulder and say “good on ya, Reed.” I still have no direction for this mode of thought & image capture, a very loose style guide, no real promotion, and at the core, it has and will always remain an endeavor solely for myself. We all need selfish outlets– safe places to unload the crazy that goes on in our minds– so that we are able to be more present in the tasks that require a selfless attitude [like at work or with a partner], and this has very much been that for me.

So yes, being an outlet is the main reason this still exists, all 98 [this being #99] posts and countless photos and links, but there are two other reasons I want to *quickly* touch on because they are both somewhat unintended results of actively blogging.

1. Writing: Starting a blog has taken my writing to a whole new level that I never could have imagined a year ago. From here, I gained the confidence and momentum to pursue more public outlets: The Neat Sheet > GalTime > Wearever The Weather > Neighborhood Notes. It’s been a journey of self-discovery and anxiety-inducing deadlines, but very much worth it.

2. Portland: I love this city. True, the name of my blog and what it is about has always been Portland-centric, but really hitting the pavement and shopping and meeting people [specifically SB and all she has so generously shared with me] has only reinforced how lucky I feel to live here- most of the time, of course. There better be a good reason for living so far from the ones I truly love, and I do feel that Portland is where I am supposed to be for now.

For these reasons, and countless others, I am grateful for this tiny space, an unrecognizable speck on a speck on the back of a speck of the World Wide Web. Thank you to any and all who reed.

Much love and to many more years of writing– CHEERS!

PoseCity xo.

4 Comments on “One year and 99 posts later.”

  1. ripcitydad says:

    Congrats! You have been a true inspiration!

  2. Renae Virata says:

    Congratulations, and happy anniversary! It has been a joy to have you as a guest blogger on WeareverTheWeather.com. Your writing and insights are a breath of fresh air…here’s to more years of inspiration!


Leave a Reply

