Hoarding Tendencies.

I’ve been collecting receipts lately. I say “collecting” because this isn’t for any financial reason, but rather a sort of extension of journaling. It all started when I stumbled upon a receipt from my road trip to Oregon in 2008 and I was pleasantly surprised how much joy I got out of reminiscing by looking at the date, time, and whereabouts of the purchase made. A simple, boring? piece of paper conjured up so many memories and thoughts, who knew?!

Literally days later, I discovered illustrator Kate Bingaman Burt. Reason #127 I adore the Internet is the way one click can be the beginning of a journey of discovery. You just never know what you are going to find, which, depending on the site/place, can be good or bad (NSFW, anyone?!). In this case, it was delightful. I started following Clair Vintage Inspired clothing on Facespace and the owner posed (wink) this question to her Internet posse.

Long story shorter, the artist in question is Ms. Bingaman Burt and I was eventually led to her website where I learned that since 2006, she has been sketching simple line drawings chronicling every purchase she makes. Calling them “Daily Purchase Drawings,” KBB has compiled months of them into small books called Obsessive Consumption. Fascinating! Like illustrated receipts, KBB draws the item and includes the price and date. What a cool idea and quite timely for me, as I have been so interested in purchase records as a way to chronicle life.

Follow KBB on the Twit @katebingburt & check out her website, The Office of Kate Bingaman Burt, where there is much more to view.

Meanwhile, back in #6…. Summer is here, but not the heat and humidity elsewhere. A lot of fab purchases have been made, a lot of great manis have been self-applied, a lot of loving, of sorrow, of confusion; aka somewhat normal. I’ve struggled to manage my time in front of a computer screen, thus explaining bouts of absence from blogging. I don’t want to be sitting on my tushy when it’s glorious outside, or when I’ve been a sloth at my desk at work all day. But I also have assignments and such that must be completed. It’s a constant balancing game, and I don’t know if I’ll ever feel quite resolved about how I spend my time. #whitegirlproblems

Speaking of assignments, my Neighborhood Notes editor made an awesome aside on the style page where peeps are encouraged to communicate ideas and comments with me directly via email and the Twit. I needed a vote of confidence from that gig and this has really helped boost my morale. I hope I get some responses!

Ok, now for some eye candy. Some recent purchases, some recent manis. As always, enjoy!

As you can see, even without my stack o’ receipts, I have not been skimping in the shopping department. DUH.

Farewell for now, Pose-rs!

PS. hope you like the new theme.

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

