Miss Frizzle Frazzled.


I have been hitting the music jackpot lately. A bunch of holds have come in at the library seemingly within a week and a half time period of each other and it is bomb.com. Side note/mega bummer: I HAVE LOST MY LIBRARY CARD. It pains me to type and speak, I’ve barely told anyone. One of my first real ‘belongings’ from Portland is missing and I’m sad. I felt such pride upon securing it, like I had officially joined the city. Luckily, my interwebz at work has remembered my account # so I have it written on an aging post-it note so I can still check out items, phew. Big side note, but an important one in case you know, anyone reeding might have seen it around town [puhleaze return to blogger]. So yeah, tons o’ tunes from the ‘brary AND a nice stack from a special someone have kept my ears/heart/mind somewhat happy/content/sane over the past few days. Emphasis on the ‘somewhat’… so it goes.
As a huge Nirvana fan, I’ve always loved the Pixies not only for their influence on Kurt & co, but as a rocking force all their own. This is one of their most mainstream hits and is not particularly amazing in anyway, but has managed to be on repeat this whole week. If I have headphones on at work, it is usually something a bit ‘angrier’…or the Nelly station on Pandora, check it out [you’re welcome]….and the Pixies usually fit the bill. PLUS y’all know my thang for lady bass players in 90s bands! Enjoy the tune.

I had a classic ‘foot in mouth’ moment to start my day today, and honestly it is still on my mind. I want a take back, a redo, a motherfing ‘un-send’ button. I want to hide and forget. I have learned a valuable lesson from this faux pas already and I’ll say these words of caution: make sure you know who it is you are responding to via email. Yeah…. Sometimes things happen that do make me want to retreat, to disassociate myself with how I was feeling at that moment, to make excuses for my behavior when I am ashamed of it for one reason or another. But obviously, I cannot hide and neither can you when/if you find yourself in a similar situation. I sought sisterly and co-workerly (?) advice on how to smooth over the incident today, and both gave me wise words. My thoughts now are still on my mistake because I will no doubt dwell on it for a few more days, but also on the kindness and forgiveness that others can extend. Putting all of this in my ‘pay it forward’ pipe and smoking it, we all mess up!
[ok maybe not FLOTUS, but that is neither here nor there]

I confess to feeling out of it in terms of what the fuzz is going on in the style-sphere. Not sooo out of touch that I didn’t catch the spawn of Rachel Zoe making his interwebz debut, but more in the vein of I sent myself five articles to read on Munday and I haven’t even opened that email. Ho hum, werk sucks, is sucking a lot of life out of me this week and will continue to do so for a while, blah blah. Which is why this post is text heavy thus far. Yer poor eyes! I will get to fixing that in 3-2-1…


[photos courtesy of instyle.com]
Lots of famous folk were out and about last night for Net-A-Porter’s Green Collection launch at…oh geez, who cares! These bitches look fine. Diane [right] is a favorite, I could look at photos of her for a lot longer than I should admit, and I love the loose braid with the fancy dress here. Olivia [left] is a newbie-ish and I honestly do not know for what she is famous, but every time I see her I think to myself that I need to investigate further. Her look here is perfect, taking details that can sometimes be trashy (mini skirt, lace) and keeping it hella classy by covering up her chest and arms. Clearly, both are quite fond of the left leg cross-over pose, high heels and neutral colored clutches. Almost makes me care about the environmental cause you are supporting, bravo ladies!

A gem via EJJ, my interwebz soulmate/coworker that I must share: OMG that dress!
A tumblr site self-described as “a blog for fashion and history,” this fulfilled my zone out/ladywood inducing needs yesterday and I cannot stop sneaking looks at dress after mind blowing dress. Can you even imagine wearing some of these numbers?! Some I would do just about anything to touch, let alone put on my body.
Sigh/swoon/oh-em-gee….

Just try to look through a few pages without uttering the namesake “OMG.” I dares ya!

Time to part for this post mah deers. Which as you know is ‘reed’ backwards. Forwards and backwards, wish me luck as I try to avoid channeling my inner Miss Hannigan the rest of the week!
But ohso fab! Wink.

Cheers,
PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

