Hollydaze.

They say it takes a village to raise a child, which certainly rings truer in certain areas of my own life than in others. Music knowledge is one of the few (only?) areas my parents left up to ‘the village’ in my formative years. Thankfully, I have an older sister who was extremely generous for passing down certain bands, songs and TAPES [cue Superunknown] to her adoring little sister. Her influence, along with friends and lovers, has shaped my current musical taste (always in flux). Simon and Gfunk, however, stand as the one act I can fully credit my mother for the introduction. She saw them live in their prime and her copy of Bridge Over Troubled Water on vinyl decorated my wall all throughout college. In honor of my trip home for the holidays tomorrow, I post this awesome performance. Enjoy!

Wait, what’s this?? NOT GOING HOME TOMORROW, ACTUALLY JETTING OFF TO PARIS TO ACCEPT MY NEW POSITION AS EDITOR IN CHIEF OF FRENCH VOGUE.
KTHANKSBYE.

Okay, back from my alternate dream universe. But fo realz?! Mega shocked at Ms. Roitfeld’s announcement earlier this week. I do adore her and her work, most recently chronicled as FVogue celebrated it’s 90th anniversary in September. A Q&A with CR from NYT alludes to frustrations over pressure to remain perma-PC in a magazine that exists to push boundaries by showcasing new and unique talent. Perhaps it all became to much?Can’t wait to see what is next for CR (hopefully it involves her super hot daughter)!

Photo cred: huffpost.com

Here’s something to ponder as your chestnutz (OMG) are roasting on an open fire:
Style Story o’ the Decade.
Hmmmm! HuffPo does start us off with some high points, all great contenders for the prize, I’m sure. But what about the launch of PoseCity in September 2010??
#MYstylestoryofthedecade

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas week. If you don’t celebrate, then have a great week just the same. No matter what you believe, we can all agree that a week without a PoseCity update surely ranks up there with coal in yer stocking circa age five. But a break is a break is a vacation, so stay strong my pets. I’ll return with a whole list of unfortunate midwest fashion flubs to share with you all. #imitationuggstuckedintomomjeans
MUCH LOVE and MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Photo cred: nyt.com

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

