Let them eat [birthday] cake!

Happy Birthday to one of my fashion idols, Marie Antoinette!

Photo cred: wikipedia.org

Mucho thanks to my Facespace friends at Opening Ceremony for pointing this out to me. I have been meaning to start a tab or series of posts profiling my style influences. Ms. MA would be near the top, or at least the top of the “Historical Figures” sub-category that I would no doubt create. The epitome of decadence, the teen queen seemed endearing in her opulence because she truly did not know any better. I fell in lust with her after the Sofia Coppola biopic came out in 2006 (a film that I have to blame for my successful, albeit brief, experiment with pink highlights) and led me to read her biography by Antonia Fraser. She is pastels and petticoats, gold trim and luxe lace, powdered face and perfumed neck. All dripping with champagne, mind you. Hero.

A few more items of note from the interwebz, all via HuffPost Style (besties):

What.The.Hell. Another one of my aforementioned would-be style icons proves that we’re all human and make mistakes. I still love you, Sienna. Just go naked if you’re going to dress like this. (hmmm… uh, yes, back to blogging….. WINK)

Because Balmain RULES duh!!! I don’t really support the styling of any of those covers, however I think Natalia probs “wears it best” in this case. Reminds me very much of this cover gem:

Photo cred: facebook.com

[cannot ever resist a photo of Ri Ri, especially in Balmain… swooooon!]

And finally, a video-mmercial [word?] for H&M’s much anticipated collab with Lanvin. OMG.. this is so dreamy and clever. I think Blondie McFrizzy hair and I were separated at birth: I want Lanvin, not flowers/diamonds/weird sunglasses wearing dudes! Love match! As I’ve said before, I want to party with Alber Elbaz. What a guy.

Until next Pose, stay golden my pets!

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

