Well, eye declare!

“Sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world I feel like I can’t take it, like my heart’s going to cave in.”

-Ricky Fitts, American Beauty 1999

As much as I love [love, love] to write, at times I would rather sit back and look. Images inspire ideas [ideally, WINK]. Last week, a new phone came into my life, hurrah!, and the return of mobile upload capabilities has sent me into image-capture overdrive ever since. I actually have to stop myself from sharing too much with my friends of the Facespace sort. Do they really want to see what the rug looks like at the coffee shop I’m at?! No! [but it’s sooooo clever, says my mind’s eye]

I reference the quote above from American Beauty nearly everyday in my mind. It truly is overwhelming how much loveliness is readily accessible in the world without even putting forth much effort. Alarm goes off, eyes open, what do you see first? Is there beauty in the way your sleepy peepers automatically adjust to take in the weird yellow green color of the clock numbers? Or what if your first glance darts to the curves of the ceiling fan above? Is there beauty to be seen in every waking moment?

Oh baby, I think so.

On the fairest of information highways, I often find myself perusing site after site online, audibly proclaiming excitement/inspiration/delight at what I see. The only way I know to reconcile all the sensory stimulation around me is to record it like a madwoman. And since I was brought up like a good Midwestern gal [corn fed, in bed by 9pm], I am good at sharing with others. Behold some recent gems. Some are silly, some are subtle, all are PoseCity deemed beautiful.

Photo cred: huffingtonpost.com

Blinkandyou’llmissit street art. LIKE.

Photo cred: huffingtonpost.com

Hilar. Costume of the Year: ‘Ween 2010.

Photo cred: superqueen.wordpress.com

Just read the whole post that contains the image above why don’t ya?

Photo cred: facebook.com

Kate Hudson on the cover of November 2010 Elle magazine. I feel like this cover would warm me on a cold day… it is so sunny and bright and I love it.

Photo cred: nylonmag.com/nylonblogs

Gah, um, eeh, eeeek, wa, wan…..WANT! NOW!

Photo cred: 4.bp.blogspot.com

David Hockney’s A Bigger Splash, 1967: Suburban ideal drenched in bright matte hues.

Photo cred: people.com

Ri Ri’s red hair!!! She is so fearless when it comes to experimenting with her look. Rihanna is not afraid of color or accessories, both of which can be risky, but she pulls it off so admirably. Being draped in Miu Miu with Matt Kemp on your arm can’t hurt a girl’s ensemble either.

Photo cred: vogue.com/parites

No surprise that Vogue would throw an amazing Halloween party. This photo is from one shin-dig held at Lanvin’s new store on Madison Avenue. It reminds me of cotton candy and I really like the unique perspective of the frame. I want to party with Alber Elbaz & co!

Beauty in music vid form. I saw Y La Bamba perform in May and their music is hauntingly dreamy. Other worldly. I love the final images in this video of Luz Elena Mendoza’s shadow running into the light at dusk, then finally exploding into a flock of birds! Swoon!

Sigh… don’t you just feel full? Like you ate a multi-course meal from the kitchen of the Fashion Goddesses? Yum yum yum.

Hope all settles well in those tummies. The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach; the way to any Pose-rs heart surely must be through the eyes.

Much love. Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

