Giving & Receiving.

#nowplaying “Six Months in a Leaky Boat” mix via Miss Moss
I’ve written before about my love for the blog Miss Moss; little did I know then that in addition to posting dreamy artwork and lovely garments, MM also shares personally assembled playlists with her blog reeders. Most feature songs and artists I’m already familiar with, but she arranges them in a most audibly delicious way.. AND she has also introduced me to a lot of new/new-to-me tunes [like this haunting Gotye tune]. This particular mix includes Pink Floyd, Van Morrison, and Fleetwood Mac- hope you enjoy as much as I do!
****oh and even more awesome, all past mixes are available for download here****

‘Tis the season for getting & giving gifts. Seemingly every website, blog, and/or magazine has compiled their own version of a “gift guide” to help the clueless navigate the big bad world of retail. I rarely find such advice helpful, mostly because the suggestions are often way out of my price range. The best gifts are spontaneously found, thoughtfully considered, and as unique as the recipient.

I was out shopping this past weekend with my friend Lauren and we popped into Magpie, a mutual favorite downtown vintage shop, on the hunt for something sparkly for our respective workplace holiday parties. Of course, our focus quickly diverted and I found this great winter dress from the 1960s. It can be difficult to find dresses warm enough to wear in the cold months without piling cardigans and scarves on top. A cozy, long-sleeved dress is a score, and a vintage one that fits (!) is gold.

The quality of this photo sucks balls – sorry, iPoseCity – but it’s the best I can do until I net enough profit to hire a live-in servant to take my blog photos for me. The top is argyle with the sweetest asymetrical collar in the same cream color of the cuffs. The black skirt is A-line and has POCKETS. Black tights, yellow heels, gold locket: time to scoot to Sterling Cooper Draper Price….er……work.

Lauren found a saucy Fendi sweater from the 80s and we waltzed triumphantly to the counter with our finds. As I dug for my wallet, she grabbed my dress and proceeded to buy it for me as a Christmas present. I resisted at first, but she won and I relented in shock and joy. Not that she wouldn’t be the type to do such a thing – don’t get me wrong –  it was just such perfect timing and totally spontaneous. The perfect gift. I am grateful.

I guess what I’m trying to convey is that gift giving doesn’t need to be a big hubabuloo with last-minute panic and crinkled gift guides torn from whatever magazine. Seek out and seize the opportunities that arise everyday to treat the ones you love with a spur-of-the-moment treat. If you’re anything like me it’ll mean more than any pre-packaged, Oprah endorsed tchotchke. Plus, wrapping paper is a waste of time/environmental resources anyway.

Happy Holiday Shopping!

Cheers,

PoseCity xo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.